Etiketter

, , , , , , , , ,

Livet är helt omöjligt i flockvärlden just nu och jag får inte ett dugg gjort med nånting. Men nu måste jag helt enkelt länka lite nya artiklar som jag behöver till boken, jag får ordna till det lite mer senare.

Först ut är den här, där ”min” modell av hur space byggs upp av interagerande delar beskrivs helt underbart fantastiskt!! Tänka sig, nu har jag en TERM för alltihop – ”modular space” heter det! 🙂

Back to Euclid: Seeking a ”New Beginning” For Space:

Modular variables are used in working out the non-local equations of motion in dynamic quantum mechanical interactions. Freidel is using them to derive modular space – a kind of space that is relational and dynamic.

Instead of starting with a notion of space within which quantum mechanical operations happen, Freidel and his colleagues are reversing that notion, building up space itself from quantum mechanical operations.

[…]

“Normally we think of space as this rigid thing that the strings vibrate in. We are changing that assumption and saying that space does not exist independently of the object,” he says. “The way that these objects interact is what defines the space.”

In this picture, space becomes something more like a relationship in which “near” and “far” depends on the context, Freidel says.

“You can feel close to someone who is on the other side of the planet, because they are next of kin, or you might have a neighbour who is close to you physically but is distant in terms of the relationship.” He is bringing a similar flexible concept, a kind of “relative locality,” to the notion of physical space at the quantum level.

Jag tänker inte diskutera det nu för jag har ju på ett sätt redan gjort det, men jag tänkte att ni andra kanske hellre läser en tydlig och klar och ”färdig” artikel om det hela – plus att det här ju visar att jag inte bara inbillar mig alltihop. (Jag kan aldrig riktigt tro själv att jag har rätt förrän en fysiker kommer och sätter en ”godkänt”-stämpel på, det är ju underligt egentligen – varför TROR jag inte att jag har rätt när jag VET att jag har det?)

Nåja. En artikel till, där de knyter ihop det här med verktygen och språket rätt hyggligt fast de ”glömmer” att ta hänsyn till hur själva LJUDEN också kan ha influerat utvecklingen – How sliced meat drove human evolution:

The most tedious part of a chimpanzee’s life is chewing. Our primate cousins spend 6 hours a day gnashing fruits and the occasional monkey carcass—all made possible by the same type of big teeth and large jaws our early ancestors had. So why are our own teeth and jaws so much smaller? A new study credits the advent of simple stone tools to slice meat and pound root vegetables, which could have dramatically reduced the time and force needed to chew, thus allowing our more immediate ancestors to evolve the physical features required for speech.

Så istället för att tänka oss en uttråkad apa som i ren frustration sitter där och kastar sten på klippväggarna får vi tänka oss en HUNGRIG en – en som mörar köttet och grönsakerna med sten och i processen lär sig både vilken sorts sten man ska använda till vilken sorts mat genom att lyssna på ljuden OCH se sambandet mellan formerna och resultatet – och som i förlängningen dessutom lär sig HÄRMA ljuden och ge dem en ”mening” när munmotoriken utvecklas… 🙂

Ok, det var det. För idag.

